jump to navigation

I am I… April 19, 2010

Posted by ev0rev in Uncategorized.
trackback

John Stossel recently wrote an article addressing the issue of labels that we tend to place on ourselves and others when it comes to political views.  I had always found conflicting information with respect to definitions on such relatively simple concepts as “conservative” or “liberal” and, hence, conflicting points of view with regard to how I felt on any given topic.

I am for the legalization of drugs and prostitution, and I’m pro choice (I don’t care for abortion, I just believe it is not for anyone else save the pregnant woman to determine what she does or does not do with respect to her body) and pro same-sex marriage.  I must therefore be a liberal.

I am also anti gun control; I support free markets and a capitalist economy and strongly believe in personal accountability with respect to one’s actions.  I believe in a strong national defense (but not in using that defensive power to influence or “police” other nations unless our national security is threatened).  I must therefore be a conservative.

In truth I don’t believe in labels.  People are not defined by the names we assign to them.  Our actions and our beliefs define who we are.

Above all, I believe in the freedoms envisioned by our nation’s Founding Fathers.  I firmly believe in the concept of limited government and I believe each of us should be afforded the freedom to succeed or fail based on our abilities and/or work ethic.  I must therefore be an American… and that’s one label I continue to embrace proudly.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

