jump to navigation

Tea Party movement and recent comments by former Pres. Clinton April 19, 2010

Posted by ev0rev in Uncategorized.
trackback

I’ve been asked to comment on former President Clinton’s warning that the Tea Party movement might somehow incite violence.

"By all means keep fighting, by all means, keep arguing," he said. "But remember, words have consequences as much as actions do, and what we advocate, commensurate with our position and responsibility, we have to take responsibility for. We owe that to Oklahoma City."

I actually don’t have a problem with his warning.  He’s right I suppose.  It could.   I don’t think that statement applies to just the Tea Party movement either.  I think the level of frustration is such that there could indeed be violence in extreme cases.  That’s not something new.  I do believe he is wrong to associate such actions with Tea Party members exclusively.  From everything I have seen/heard so far, they represent an increasing number of people who are simply tired of the status quo in Washington.  That alone is sure to make folks inside the beltway a little nervous… and I say it’s about time.

I’ve also heard about how “racist elements” within the Tea Party movement are rampant.  Granted, I haven’t been to a rally yet… but again, from everything I’ve seen and heard racism isn’t a bigger issue than anywhere else in society.  Does racism exist in the Tea Party movement?  Absolutely.  As a subsystem of our American society as a whole it is going to reflect that society in many ways.  But rampant racism?   I suspect those making that assertion are the ones injecting race into the issue and nothing more.

Comments»

1. accident lawyer - May 18, 2010

accident lawyer
injury lawyer
accident attorney

http://theaccidentlawyers.org/accident-lawyer accident lawyer
http://theaccidentlawyers.org/injury-lawyer injury lawyer
http://theaccidentlawyers.org/accident-attorney accident attorney

Long time lurker, thought I would say hello! I really dont post much but thanks for the good times I have here. Love this place..

When I was hurt in that motorcar accident my life would be changed totally. Unfortunately that driver had no car insurance and I was going to be hurting for ever.

This was not time for me to start and guess what to do. I had to find a good personal injury lawyer to help me get what I needed. After all, my family was counting on me.

How bad was it? I has bedridden for 4 months, I had to have constant care and my medical bills went through the roof!

Gratefully, I found a good referral site to help me.

I will post more later this week to tell you more about what I have been going through.

Anyways thanks for the good work keep it up!


Leave a Reply

